Dave Kent: Vocals/Guitar“Mutton” Jeff Rose: BassPaul “Mr Fantastic” Tillotson: Drums
After practicing their craft for years in an abandoned aircraft hanger just outside of Fairoaks in Surrey and then toiling away for years in the dark and dank clubs of London and the South-East getting nowhere fast, singer/guitarist/song writer – Dave Kent and the other band members ejected their previous singer and employed the services of a keyboard player and founded the new band, Velvet Razor in 2003.For nearly 8 years Velvet Razor has thrilled audiences around London and the South-East. While playing live they exude tremendous energy and they have a proven ability to entertain audiences of all ages, in intimate venues up to large festival stages. Their forays into the recording studio always yield interesting results, which explains their 10,000+ strong worldwide following on myspace. Melding the essence of British & American rock, in the styles of Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, The Cult and The Doors, but with the energy of bands like the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Guns N’ Roses, QoTSA, Foo Fighters, Greenday and Muse.
“Rainbow Warriors” (being promoted by QuiteGreat PR agency) was the band’s 4 track EP Released March 2010 With standout tracks like “Victims of Love,” and “The Shimmering Sun” it received favourable reviews from Guitar magazine.”Hex” is their latest release in July 2010 and is available worldwide on amazon, itunes, napster and other reputable music stores. “Hex”
unites Dave Kent’s politically charged yowling vocals with road-seasoned melodies to create genre defining album chocked full of fist-pumping rock. With standout tracks like “Lover’s Lament,” and “Do you dare to lie?” look out for Velvet Razor to be a potential leader in the rock landscape for years to come.
Some of the band’s career & performance highlights:

  • Guilfest 2012, 2010 on the second pro stage
  • In Feb 2008 Velvet Razor’s song “You don’t care” was voted MP3 of the week by UK live music site Lemonrock.
  • Guilfest 2006 Ents 24 stage (2nd largest stage).
  • Surface Unsigned Festival 2008
Sample Venue/Performance List

  • Guilfest 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2005
  • Surface Unsigned Festival 2008
  • Fleetfest 2008, 2007, 2006
  • Michaelfest 2007
  • Boiler Room, Guildford 2009
  • The King’s Head, Acton 2009
  • Red Lion, Twickenham 2009
  • The Grey Horse, Kingston 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005
  • Robin Hood, Guildford 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006
  • The Blue Anchor, Byfleet
  • Hand & Spear, Weybridge 2005, 2006
  • Borderline, London 2005
Discography2010 CD Album/Download – Hex (Part 1)2010 4-Track EP – Rainbow Warriors2008 4-Track EP – The Wyvern – WSC Studio Sessions

2006 4-Track EP – The Razor’s edge – Garden Studio Sessions

2003 Debut CD album… The Day the Earth Rocked

RadioDecember 2009 Russ James on Radio Liberté, France (CD play)November 2009 Interview & CD Play on the James Neale show on Radio LionAugust 2009 Live and Unplugged on the Mandy Worral show on Radio Lion

July 2009 Interviewed by James Neale, Radio Lion at Festival

July 2008 Live and Unplugged at Keith Woodhouse show on Delta Radio

May 2008 Interview & CD Play at Brooklands Radio

July 2007 Russ James Rock Show on Radio Liberte (CD play)

June 2007 Russ James Rock Show on Radio Liberte (CD play)

Velvet Razor’s demos are available to listen to here at

(www.velvetrazor.com), and available to buy at velvetrazor.net,


Watch this space for new tracks & Videos.

Livefor the music, anything else is just distraction – Dave Kent (Guitarist)